***RESOLUTIONS

The Board

52/1. The Conference appointed the following as members of the Board of Management for the next Connexional year:

- i. The ex-officio members specified in Standing Order 201
- ii. The Chairman of the Board nominated by the Board: The Revd Dr Kathleen Richardson
- iii. The Connexional Team Secretary responsible for education affairs
- iv. One person nominated by the governors of each of the schools held upon the Methodist Independent Education Trust Deed:
 - Mr David Whitehead (Ashville),

Professor Roy Swanston (Culford),

- Mrs Jennifer Wilson (Kingsley),
- Mr David Chaundler (Farringtons),
- Mr Dudley Shipton (Kent College, Canterbury),
- Mr Edmund Waterhouse (Kent College, Pembury),
- Mr Colin Burns (Kingswood),
- Mr Nigel Birkett (Queen's College, Taunton),
- The Revd Philip Barnett (Rydal Penrhos),
- Mr Michael Saltmarsh (Shebbear),
- Mr Geoff Rumbles (Truro) and
- Mr Alan Wintersgill (Woodhouse Grove).
- v. Eight persons nominated by the Methodist Council:

Dr Peter Briggs, The Revd Graham Thompson, Mr Brian Drury, Miss Margaret Faulkner, Dr Lois Louden and The Revd Peter Whittaker (two vacancies).

vi. Six other persons:

Mr Michael Crosby and The Revd Dr David Deeks (four vacancies).

Reasoned Statements for new members:

Mr David Chaundler:	Previously the bursar at Westminster School. Newly appointed as chairman of governors at Farringtons School.
Mr Dudley Shipton:	Newly appointed chairman of governors at Kent College, Canterbury. A former pupil of the school.
Mr Alan Wintersgill:	Recently appointed chairman of governors at Woodhouse Grove School. Member of the Board of Management's Finance Committee.
The Revd Dr David Deeks:	Formerly General Secretary of the Methodist Church.

Ashville College

- 52/2. The Conference appointed Mr Peter Holt, Miss Helen Priestnall and Mr Colin Straw as governors of Ashville College for a period of three years from 1 September 2010.
- 52/3. The Conference appointed Mr Moray Bisset as a governor of Ashville College for a period of three years from 1 September 2010.
- 52/4. The Conference appointed Mr Tim Key as a governor of Ashville College for a period of three years from 1 September 2010.

Kingswood School

52/5. The Conference appointed Revd Dr John Barrett, Mrs Susan Cook and Mrs Barbara Pendle as governors of Kingswood School for a period of three years from 1 June 2010.

Rydal Penrhos School

52/6. The Conference appointed The Revd Philip Barnett and The Revd Michael Long as governors of Rydal Penrhos for a period of three years from 1 June 2010.

Reasoned Statements for nominations

Ashville

Mr Tim Key

Head of two primary schools and formerly responsible at Ofsted for policy and publication matters, and Chief Advisor to the Chief Inspector.

Mr Moray Bisset

Former Head of Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Junior School, Wakefield. A governor at Yarm School and a member of the Leeds Synod.

Kingswood

Revd Dr John Barrett

Elected President of the World Methodist Council in 2006 and lately Principal of an International School in Singapore. Formerly Head of Kent College, Pembury and The Leys.

Mrs Susan Cook

Mrs Cook's sons attended Kingswood School. She is a law lecturer and University Secretary.

Mrs Barbara Pendle

Formerly responsible for a special needs unit. A member of Weston Methodist Church and involved with Bristol Children's Help Society.